Quick tip to keep your dish rack clean and mould free

This current dish rack that I have, I remember exactly when I bought it, it was last year mid January, so that means I have had it for over a year and it practically still looks new.

image(4)

Oh how much pleasure I get to put a freshly wash cup on there. I have seen a dish rack or two in  my time and oh, the number of mouldy, scummy ones I can not tell you how many of those I’ve seen. I have learned to keep mine clean and prevent any nasty things growing on it, this way I don’t even have to replace it so often.

So how do I do it? It’s so simple and takes no time, I promise.

Before I cut to the chase, there are some things that go without saying but are worth a mention:

  1. Make sure that no dirty dishes are placed on your rack, I know you might be screwing your face and thinking ‘huh’. A dish rack is meant to have clean, freshly washed dishes on it but not everyone knows this.
  2. Make sure that the dishes that are washed, are washed thoroughly to prevent any food particles and dirty soapy water from sliding off and finding a new home on a spot that should be bacteria free. (Dishes need to be washed with a sponge and soap and rinsed with clean running water, not soapy water which has had dirty dishes sitting in them)

Now that that’s out the way, let’s crack on.

All I do is have my microfibre cloth always handy by the sink. I have a bleach kitchen spray, I use a cheap supermarket one (if you don’t like the idea of using bleach, you can use any other cleaner or a vinegar and water mix). Every time (or as often as I can) I clear dishes off the rack and it’s empty, I spray the rack with the bleach spray, on the up and under side, take my dry microfibre cloth and give it a good wipe. Making sure I get into the grooves too because that’s where dirt gets trapped. I hate talking about a place that should be clean as dirty but it’s true, it does get dirty if it’s not cleaned regularly. Anyway, once I’ve done this, I also spray the surface it was sitting on and wipe it down with the cloth.

my trusty old microfiber cloth which is due a hot wash in machine

my trusty old microfiber cloth which is due a hot wash in machine

image

The most important thing, and I would say the key to preventing bacteria from growing is making sure that the area is a dry as possible for as long as possible. Now I know this is a bit counter-intuitive as it’s where wet dishes go, but a wipe before washing up and a wipe after washing up, even when the dishes are still on the rack, I’d make sure that areas that don’t need to be wet aren’t wet.

It doesn’t take any time at all, literally one or two minutes. I still give a good scrub every once in few months but it has actually never needed one since I’m cleaning it daily.

Leave a Comment

